chicsetr.blogg.se

Led zeplin 2007
Led zeplin 2007





led zeplin 2007

A reunion tour seemed like an inevitability, and venues were put on hold in North America, but Plant scuttled the whole thing once Raising Sand became an unexpected smash success. It was a tribute show to Ahmet Ertegun at London’s O2 Arena, and the band spent months rehearsing to make sure it was note-perfect.

LED ZEPLIN 2007 FULL

Months before the album hit, Plant finally gave in to decades of pressure and agreed to reunite with Led Zeppelin for their first full concert since John Bonham died.

led zeplin 2007

“In the old days, we would have called this selling out. “I’d like to say that I’m bewildered,” Plant said after accepting the Grammy from Green Day. It debuted at Number One on the Billboard 200 and won six Grammys, including Album of the Year. Their 2007 LP Raising Sand was the most successful project that Robert Plant had taken on since the end of Led Zeppelin in 1980. “It’s a vacation, really - the perfect place to go that you least expected to find.” “You hear something and you go, ‘Man, listen to that song, we got to sing that song!’ ” Plant added. We brought other people in, other personalities within the band, and coming back together again in the studio brought a new intimacy to the harmonies.” “ was the moment I knew we’d make another album,” she said. In a statement, Krauss said she knew it was time to re-form the duo when she heard the Calexico song. It’s a 12-track collection that features their original tune “High and Lonesome,” as well as covers of Lucinda Williams’ “Can’t Let Go,” Calexico’s “Quattro (World Drifts In),” and Geeshie Wiley’s “Last Kind Word Blues.” After Zeppelin played "Stairway" that night, a song Plant didn't like to play reportedly he said, "We did it, Ahmet." Yes they did and now you can relive it.On Thursday, Robert Plant and Alison Krauss announced details of their long-rumored reunion album Raise the Roof. for this show." My response: "So what, so did I." It wasn't just the show, it was the adventure, the excitement and seeing a childhood dream come to life. When I said no, he said, "I flew all the way from L.A. Paid 100 pounds for it and some guy behind me in line immediately offered me double. I still have the poster on my wall, one of 2,000 limited edition prints, I got the last one off the wall. So when you watch that YouTube show this weekend, and, man you should, think about what that show meant to so many Zeppelin fans, the experience of being there. The perfect show from the most mythical rock band of all time back to life for one night. And when I asked him if it was worth it, he said, "Oh yeah." He sold his truck to pay for the trip and would be walking to work every day to see that show. After the show I met a guy from the east coast of Canada, where it just snowed in May. There will never be another band that was as good as Led Zeppelin was on that perfect night.

led zeplin 2007 led zeplin 2007

Well on this night, one night to redeem their reputation, they delivered the best show that ever was. I have many friends who saw them then who said they weren't always at the top. Not always at their peak in the '70s as a live act due to partying and other things, they were not treated by many as one of the great live bands of all time. They could never match the intensity and magic of that night. I have always appreciated and understood Zeppelin not touring after that show and not just because I got to see it. And no offense to any of the great live acts the way I have described that Zeppelin show in the 13 years since is it was like going to a lifetime of minor league baseball games and finally seeing a major league game. I have seen the Stones, the Who, U2, Neil Young, everyone. That spirit kept through the entire night. That night I wrote in my notes during "In My Time Of Dying" it was so good I wanted to cry. But even before getting into "Stairway To Heaven," "Kashmir," "Black Dog, "Rock And Roll," and more, it was the forth song, "In My Time Of Dying," where I realized I wasn't seeing the memory of Led Zeppelin, the greatest band of the '70s, I was seeing the greatest show of all time. For the next two and a half hours they brought the FM radio of my youth to life with a dazzling array of hits unmatched.







Led zeplin 2007