chicsetr.blogg.se

S.f.police blotter
S.f.police blotter











s.f.police blotter

The Skagway News also published a book of humorous blotter items.) A Haines woman a few years ago published a book about items appearing in the Haines blotter. (The Anchorage Dispatch News has regularly published sections of the blotter from Dutch Harbor, only because that town is a colorful place and its police calls tend to be unique. (This one occurred in our family when I was growing up.) The published “blotters” in small-town newspapers are always of interest, including because they include interesting reports of small-town life: Maybe firemen rescuing cats stuck up trees or reports to police about missing children by distraught parents who later find their child in some improbably place – like sleeping in their own beds in the middle of the afternoon. My first reporting job at the former Anchorage Times in 1986 involved combing through the Anchorage “blotter,” which was provided as a stack of reports on a clipboard made available to the public in the lobby of Anchorage police station. I believe the Juneau Empire publishes Juneau’s. Newspapers around the country publish police reports, informally called “the blotter.” The Skagway News publishes Skagway’s. Now, for a little background on this issue. Even if the blotter weren’t published in the newspaper, its discontinuation would be a matter of public interest to the community and for that reason, newsworthy. (As I am no longer involved in day-to-day management of the CVN, I’m not aware of anything in this week’s paper about this issue.)Īlso, the Chilkat Valley News was obligated to write a recent story about discontinuation of the blotter because the report for decades was a public document provided by police, who most recently published it on the department’s Facebook page. I have first-hand knowledge of the 25-year history of the blotter, as it’s been published in the newspaper.

s.f.police blotter

I’m commenting on this website – rather than in the Chilkat Valley News – in an attempt to separate my opinion as a citizen and assembly member from my occupation as a newspaper owner.Īlso, I’m making comment because I have some things to say about this issue that I’m not sure would be heard otherwise. He makes money on it.” Or, “Which hat is Tom Morphet wearing at this moment?” That’s a regular feature of his newspaper. I’m sure some people will say, “Sure, Tom Morphet wants the police to provide a blotter. I also serve on the Haines Borough Assembly, and among my duties is voting on the borough’s budget, which includes the police department. I own the Chilkat Valley News, which publishes the blotter as a regular feature. First, let me say that my commenting on the Haines Borough Police Department’s decision to no longer provide the police report or “blotter” may be perceived as a double conflict of interest.













S.f.police blotter